About user account role access

Learn how to manage access for specific user accounts

Users in Craftybase can be created as either admin or secondary users. Secondary users can then have additional permission settings applied to allow you more fine-grained control over the access you provide the people they work with. 


In this article, we'll cover:


Admin vs secondary users

Admin users can view and use all areas of Craftybase. This is the user that the account was originally created under - if you need to switch your admin access to another account, follow the instructions here: Changing the Account Admin.

Secondary users can view and use all areas of Craftybase, apart from the following areas:

  • Account Settings
  • Subscription details (changing plans, subscribing, and canceling your account)
  • Invoice Settings
  • Managing users
  • Managing integrations
  • Pricing tier management
  • Quantity type management
  • Category management

User Roles

A user can either be an admin, an editor, or a viewer. Editor and viewer roles can only be set on eligible plans - by default, all users are set as Editors.

Admin:  Admin users can view and edit all areas and features of Craftybase. 

Editor: Editor users have the ability to modify data they have access to.

Viewer: Viewer users have no ability to change data.

View access settings

On eligible plans, you can also configure more fine-grained access to views for your secondary users - this is useful if you'd like to add a user that you would prefer not to see more business-sensitive areas like profitability breakdowns or pricing margins.

Details on the access permission settings available are below:

Customer Details: when switched off, this prevents the user from viewing customer PII on orders and customer pages, as well as reports relating to customers (Customers by Revenue, Customers by Frequency)

Reporting: Switching this setting off hides all high-level reports across Craftybase. This includes the Reports tab, the graphical charts at the top of your Orders and Purchases pages, and all reporting sections of your Overview page.

Product Pricing: when switched off, this prevents the user from seeing the default prices for products and variations, pricing guidance for products and variations, and reports relating to pricing (Product Adjustment Report, Most Popular Products, Top Revenue Generators, Product Pricelist)

Profitability: when switched off, this prevents the user from seeing the profitability breakdown on products and orders, as well as reports relating to profitability (Orders Margin Report)

Material Costs: when switched off, this prevents the user from seeing recipe costs, material unit costs, and purchase totals. When switched on, users are able to access and enter data in the Purchase tab.

Order Totals: when switched off, this prevents the user from seeing the totals of orders, as well as reports relating to order totals. This setting also switches off the ability to see and download invoices.



Changing the Account Admin

  1. Find your Users list by hovering your mouse over the Settings icon, then select the Manage Users option from the menu that appears.

  1. Hover over the ⋮ icon next to the name of the user for whom you wish to change the details.
  2. On the form that appears, you can change the user name and/or email address.

  1. Click the Save button.
Did this answer your question? Thanks for the feedback There was a problem submitting your feedback. Please try again later.